Ash Radford

Soulful Folk
Concert
Mo 4 Juli 2022 20:00
zur Zeit
ausverkauft

– – –
Event with headphones
The Seebühne at the Schwanenspiegel floats on the water while the audience sits on the terraces on the shore. In order to connect the audience with what is happening on stage, a headphone system is used that is sanitised before each use.

Surf-pop
for 
wandering souls

British singer-songwriter Ash Radford undoubtedly caught the “wanderlust bug” early: After spending most of his childhood on the island of Jersey, he went out into the world, living in New Zealand, South Africa, Australia and Ibiza. Radford’s raw, earthy sound is influenced and formed by his travels, his folk songs are infused with the heartbeat of his soulful voice and his pure, percussive guitar playing. Radford has performed at the Sziget and Glastonbury festivals, supported singer-songwriter Jeremy Loops and The Beautiful Girls on their European tours, and is a featured artist at the 2021 Enter The Wave music and surf festival in Spain, France and the Netherlands. His debut EP ‘How Well Do You Know This Place’ was released in 2019.

Radford’s second EP ‘Terra Santo’ is due for release in summer 2022, with fresh, soulful songs informed by 70s influences of rock, folk and surf-pop. The album was recorded live in Prague with Matt Johnson (Jeff Buckley/St Vincent) on drums and Rob Calder (Angus & Julia Stone) on bass. Radford and producer Rohin Brown then spent weeks experimenting with a plethora of vintage analogue equipment to enrich the sound – from creating morse code through a modified 1960s New Orleans organ to recording vocals in the studio’s echoing, underground hallways.

Today, Radford still leads a nomadic life, currently living between Portugal and London, and he is currently spending the spring of 2022 touring solo in his van along Europe’s west coast. At asphalt, Radford performs with just his guitar and the audience can look forward to a headphone concert of great intimacy.

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Sponsored by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of NRW as part of the #Kunststörer project.

Ash Radford: Vocals, Guitar

ashradfordmusic.com

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Ash Radford

Soulful Folk
Konzert
Mo 4 Juli 2022 20:00

Spielort: Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel

– – –
Veranstaltung mit Kopfhörern
Die Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel schwimmt auf dem Wasser, während das Publikum auf den Terrassen am Ufer sitzt. Um die Zuschauer:innen mit dem Geschehen auf der Bühne zu verbinden, kommt ein Kopfhörersystem zum Einsatz, das vor jeder Nutzung frisch desinfiziert wird.

Surf-Pop
gegen
das
Fernweh

Der britische Singer-Songwriter Ash Radford ist zweifellos vom »Wanderlust-Syndrom« befallen: Er verbrachte den Großteil seiner Kindheit auf der Insel Jersey, zog dann als junger Mann in die Welt hinaus und lebte in Neuseeland, Südafrika, Australien und auf Ibiza. Radfords rauer, erdiger Sound ist von seinen Reisen geprägt, seine Folksongs leben von seiner gefühlvollen Stimme und seinem puren, perkussiven Gitarrenspiel. Radford trat bereits beim Sziget- und beim Glastonbury-Festival auf, war Support bei den Europatourneen von Singer-Songwriter Jeremy Loops sowie The Beautiful Girls und 2021 einer der Künstler des Musik- und Surffestivals ›Enter The Wave‹ in Spanien, Frankreich und den Niederlanden. Seine Debüt-EP ›How Well Do You Know This Place‹ erschien 2019.

Im Sommer 2022 steht die Veröffentlichung von Radfords zweiter EP ›Terra Santo‹ an, mit frischen, souligen Songs, die geprägt sind von 70er-Jahre-Einflüssen aus Rock, Folk und Surf-Pop. Das Album wurde live in Prag aufgenommen mit Matt Johnson (Jeff Buckley/St Vincent) am Schlagzeug und Rob Calder (Angus & Julia Stone) am Bass. Anschließend experimentierten Radford und Produzent Rohin Brown wochenlang mit einer Fülle von altem, analogen Equipment, mischten Morsecodes und die Klänge einer modifizierten New-Orleans-Orgel aus den 1960er-Jahren in die Musik und nahmen sogar Gesang in den hallenden, unterirdischen Gängen des Studios auf.

Radford führt nach wie vor ein Nomadenleben, wohnt aktuell zwischen Portugal und London und verbrachte das Frühjahr 2022 damit, in seinem Van entlang der europäischen Westküste solo zu touren. Auch bei asphalt tritt Radford nur mit seiner Gitarre auf und das Publikum darf sich auf ein Kopfhörerkonzert von großer Intimität freuen.

Gefördert vom Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW im Rahmen des Projektes #Kunststörer

Ash Radford: Gesang, Gitarre

ashradfordmusic.com