German premiere

Dark Noon

Fix & Foxy
An African Western about European migration

– – –
Duration: 120 min
English with German surtitles
– – –
Audience discussion following the performances on Fri 24.6. and Sat 25.6.

»
A
dynamic
and
explosive
per-formance
«

(CPHCulture)

In a village with a saloon, a gold mine, a railway and a church, built on red clay, seven South African actors are filming a Western – and in the process they expose all the current, romanticising clichés of the genre.

The Danish director Tue Biering and the South African choreographer Nhlanhla Mahlangu developed the multi-award-winning production ‘Dark Noon – a Western about us’ together with actors from Johannesburg and Pretoria. The play delves into the time when millions of impoverished white Europeans fled across the Atlantic to America to build a new life in the Wild West. The immigrants fought for a second chance, wanted to open up land, dig for gold and survive on the American dream. It is a dangerous, often deadly journey – in God’s own country and in the merciless pursuit of happiness, lives are often worthless.

For a long time, history has been portrayed exclusively from the perspective of the white, male population – the expulsion of Native Americans and the accompanying genocide against them do not feature in Westerns. ‘Dark Noon’ analyses the genre in a satirical tour de force traversing the merciless history of American conquest and thus exposes all the more clearly the historically dubious nature of the myths of the Wild West.

The play begins with an empty stage. Little by little, the stage set is erected as the immigrants build their town in the harsh, inhospitable land where not all dreams come true. Almost out of nowhere, ‘Dark Noon’ develops into a large, visually and emotionally gripping theatre spectacle with rapid role changes, an infectious rhythm, singing and hip-hop music in the tradition of South African storytelling. The Europeans are embodied by black actors. In this respect, ‘Dark Noon’ is not only an allegory told from a South African perspective about white colonialism in the African world, but also questions who is allowed to represent whom – a clever commentary on current debates about cultural appropriation.

The Danish performance company Fix & Foxy has been producing theatre pieces, performance art and immersive installations for over ten years. Artistic director Tue Biering and his team are masters at telling complex narratives through playful, entertaining formats while challenging preconceptions. To do this, Fix & Foxy often invite people onto the stage who are rarely shown or represented in theatres. ‘Dark Noon’ was awarded in the category ‘Special Award’ at the Reumert Award 2020, the national Danish theatre award, and was nominated for Stage Design of the Year. At asphalt 2022 it can be seen for the first time ever in Germany.

– – –
The press says:

“It’s different and I dare say it’s brilliant. ‘Dark Noon’ is an excellent example of what modern performing arts can offer!” (Ungt Teaterblod)

“‘Dark Noon’ is a true ensemble performance from start to finish, a cornucopia of ideas, energy and ferocity. Director Tue Biering, together with South African choreographer Nhlanhla Mahlangu, has created a truly unique performance with international potential.” (Danish Arts Council)

“‘Dark Noon’ touched me deeply, gave me goosebumps, made me laugh out loud and caused a lump in my throat.” (Enturikulturland.blogspot.com)

Vimeo

By loading the video, you agree to Vimeo’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Supported by Goethe-Institut 

with Bongani Bennedict Masango, Joe Young, Lillian Tshabalala, Mandla Gaduka, Siyambonga Alfred Mdubeki, Katlego Kaygee Letsholonyana and Thulani Zwane

Director, Concept: Tue Biering
Choreographer, Co-Director: Nhlanhla Mahlangu
Set Designer: Johan Kølkjær
Sound Designer: Ditlev Brinth
Light Designer: Christoffer Gulløv
Props Designer: Marie Rosendahl Chemnitz
Costume Designer: Camilla Lind
Video Design: Rasmus Kreiner
Director’s Assistant: Katinka Hurvig Møller
Producer: Karoline Holm Michelsen
International Producer: Annette Max Hansen

TOUR TEAM 2022
Assistant Director: Katinka Hurvig Møller
Stage Manager: Jacob Weize Mylund
Sound Manager & Operator: Nanna-Karina Schleimann
Technical Director and lighting design: Fillip Vilhelmsson
Production Manager Thomas Dotzler
Costumiers: Camilla Lind, Clara Bisgaard
Video designer: Rasmus Kreiner
Producer: Annette Max Hansen

fixfoxy.com

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Deutsche Erstaufführung

Dark Noon

Fix & Foxy
Ein afrikanischer Western über europäische Migration
Do 23 Juni 2022 20:00
Fr 24 Juni 2022 19:30
Sa 25 Juni 2022 19:30

Spielort: Weltkunstzimmer, Glashalle

– – –
Dauer: 120 Min.
In englischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln
– – –
Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss an die Vorstellungen am Fr 24.6. und Sa 25.6.

»
A
dynamic
and
explosive
performance
«

(CPHCulture)

In einem Dorf mit Saloon, Goldmine, Eisenbahn und Kirche, errichtet auf rotem Lehmboden, drehen sieben südafrikanische Schauspieler:innen einen Western – und entlarven dabei all die gängigen, romantisierenden Klischees des Genres.

Die vielfach preisgekrönte Produktion ›Dark Noon – a western about us‹ entwickelten der dänische Regisseur Tue Biering und der südafrikanische Choreograf Nhlanhla Mahlangu gemeinsam mit Darsteller:innen aus Johannesburg und Pretoria. Das Stück taucht ein in die Zeit, als Millionen verarmte, weiße Europäer:innen über den Atlantik nach Amerika flohen, um sich im Wilden Westen ein neues Leben aufzubauen. Die Einwander:innen kämpften um eine zweite Chance, wollten Land erschließen, nach Gold schürfen und vom amerikanischen Traum zehren. Es ist eine gefährliche, nicht selten tödliche Reise: In »God’s own country« sind Leben nicht viel wert beim gnadenlosen Streben nach Glück.

Lange wurde die Geschichte ausschließlich aus der Perspektive der weißen, männlichen Bevölkerung dargestellt – die Vertreibung der amerikanischen Ureinwohner:innen und der damit einhergehende Völkermord an ihnen spielt in Western keine Rolle. ›Dark Noon‹ analysiert das Genre in einem satirischen Parforceritt durch die gnadenlose amerikanische Eroberungsgeschichte und entlarvt damit umso klarer die historische Fragwürdigkeit von Wildwest-Mythen.

Das Stück beginnt mit einer leeren Bühne. Nach und nach wird das Bühnenbild errichtet, während die Einwander:innen ihre Stadt in dem rauen, unwirtlichen Land aufbauen, in dem nicht alle Träume in Erfüllung gehen. Praktisch aus dem Nichts entwickelt sich ›Dark Noon‹ zu einem großen, visuell und emotional packenden Theaterspektakel mit schnellen Rollenwechseln, mitreißendem Rhythmus, Gesang und Hip-Hop-Musik in der Tradition des südafrikanischen Storytellings. Dabei werden die Europäer:innen von schwarzen Schauspieler:innen verkörpert. Insofern ist ›Dark Noon‹ nicht nur eine aus südafrikanischer Sicht erzählte Allegorie über den Kolonialismus der Weißen in der afrikanischen Welt, sondern hinterfragt auch, wer wen repräsentieren darf – ein kluger Kommentar zu aktuellen Debatten über kulturelle Aneignung.

Die dänische Gruppe Fix & Foxy produziert seit über zehn Jahren Theaterstücke, Performancekunst und immersive Installationen. Dem künstlerischen Leiter Tue Biering und seinem Team gelingt es meisterhaft, komplexe Narrative durch spielerische, unterhaltsame Formate zu erzählen und dabei Vorurteile zu hinterfragen. Oft laden Fix & Foxy dazu Menschen auf die Bühne ein, die nur selten in Theatern gezeigt oder repräsentiert werden. ›Dark Noon‹ wurde u. a. beim Reumert Award 2020, dem nationalen dänischen Theaterpreis, in der Kategorie ›Sonderpreis‹ ausgezeichnet und war für das Bühnenbild des Jahres nominiert. Bei asphalt 2022 ist es zum ersten Mal überhaupt in Deutschland zu sehen.

– – –
Das sagt die Presse:

»Es ist anders und ich wage zu behaupten, dass es brillant ist. ›Dark Noon‹ ist ein hervorragendes Beispiel dafür, was moderne darstellende Kunst bieten kann!« (Ungt Teaterblod)

»›Dark Noon‹ ist eine echte Ensemble-Performance von Anfang bis Ende, ein Füllhorn an Ideen, Energie und Wildheit. Regisseur Tue Biering hat zusammen mit dem südafrikanischen Choreographen Nhlanhla Mahlangu eine wirklich einzigartige Performance mit internationalem Potenzial geschaffen.« (Danish Arts Council)

»›Dark Noon‹ hat mich tief berührt, mir eine Gänsehaut beschert, mich laut lachen lassen und einen Kloß im Hals verursacht.« (Enturikulturland.blogspot.com)

 

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Gefördert vom Goethe-Institut

mit Bongani Bennedict Masango, Joe Young, Lillian Tshabalala, Mandla Gaduka, Siyambonga Alfred Mdubeki, Katlego Kaygee Letsholonyana und Thulani Zwane

Regie, Konzept: Tue Biering
Choreografie, Co-Regie: Nhlanhla Mahlangu
Bühnenbild: Johan Kølkjær
Ton: Ditlev Brinth
Lichtdesign: Christoffer Gulløv
Requisite: Marie Rosendahl Chemnitz
Kostüm: Camilla Lind
Video: Rasmus Kreiner
Regieassistenz: Katinka Hurvig Møller
Produzentin: Karoline Holm Michelsen
Internationale Produzentin: Annette Max Hansen

TOUR TEAM 2022
Regieassistenz: Katinka Hurvig Møller
Bühnenleiter: Jacob Weize Mylund
Tonmeister & Operator: Nanna-Karina Schleimann
Technische Leitung und Lichtdesign: Fillip Vilhelmsson
Produktionsleiter: Thomas Dotzler
Kostüm: Camilla Lind, Clara Bisgaard
Videodesign: Rasmus Kreiner
Produzentin: Annette Max Hansen

fixfoxy.com