Frontera / Border – A Living Monument

Dance performance by Amanda Piña

– – –
Duration: 90 min.

Audience discussion following the performances

High-energy
choreography
of resistance

The work ‘Frontera | Border – A Living Monument’ by the Mexican-Chilean choreographer Amanda Piña has its roots in an old dance form that was performed by the Spanish during the conquest of Mexico in the 16th century as ‘Danza de conquista’ to reenact the battles of Muslim Moors and Christians in Europe. This old ‘conquest dance’ was taken up in the 1990s by young people from Matamoros on the border between Mexico and the USA. They updated and established it as an alternative form of self-expression in public space in the Mexican border town, which was dominated by drugs and violence. Amanda Piña uses the transformation of this traditional dance form as inspiration for a choreography that weaves together hip-hop culture, colonial narratives, indigenous practices and mysticism. ‘Frontera I Border’ is a living monument that reminds us that a border is not just a line on a map, but also carves itself into bodies. Moreover, the work is a tribute to the strength and resilience of those who are willing to cross borders.

‘Frontera I Border – A Living Monument’ is the fourth part of Amanda Piña’s project ‘Endangered Human Movements’. The dancer and choreographer, who lives in Vienna and Mexico City, deals with the decolonisation of art in her artistic works, focusing on the political and social power of movement. Piña temporarily abolishes established divisions such as modern and traditional, human and animal or nature and culture and is on the lookout for new framework conditions for the development of art.

Amanda Piña is one of the leading choreographers in Europe. Her works have been shown at the Fondation Cartier pour l’Art Contemporain Paris, MUMOK Museum of Modern Art, Tanzquartier Wien, ImpulsTanz Festival, Royal Festival Hall in London, Museo Universitario del Chopo in Mexico City and HAU – Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin, among others. Since 2008 Piña has been running the gallery space nadaLokal in Vienna together with Swiss visual artist Daniel Zimmermann, with whom she also founded ‘nadaproductions’.

– – –
The press says:

“A powerful, fascinating performance – and an exuberant celebration” (Der Tagesspiegel).

A production of nadaproductions in co-production with asphalt Festival, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Arts Finland and supported by the Cultural Department of the City of Vienna and by Goethe-Institute; supported by the Mexican Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the National School of Folkloric Dance of Mexico, INBA and National Institute of Fine Arts Mexico

with Matteo Marziano Graziano, Daphna Horenczyk, Dafne del Carmen Moreno, Juan Carlos Palma Velasco, Rodrigo de la Torre Coronado, Lina María Venegas, Mariê Mazer, Carlos María Romero aka Atabey Mamasita, Jorgue luis Cruz Carrera

Artistic Direction & Choreography: Amanda Piña
Art Design: Michel Jimenez
Choreography & devising of danza de Matamoros: Rodrigo de la Torre Coronado
Research: Juan Carlos Palma Velasco, Amanda Piña
Music & Composition: Christian Müller
Live Percussion: Jorgue luis Cruz Carrera
Costume Design: La mata del veinte / Julia Trybula
Dramaturgy: Nicole Haitzinger

nadaproductions.at

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Frontera | Border – A Living Monument

Tanzperformance von Amanda Piña
Fr 1 Juli 2022 20:00
Sa 2 Juli 2022 20:00

Spielort: Sammlung Philara

– – –
Dauer: 90 Min.

Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss an die Vorstellungen.

Energie-geladene
Choreografie
des
Widerstands

Die Arbeit ›Frontera | Border – A Living Monument‹ der mexikanisch-chilenischen Choreografin Amanda Piña hat ihre Wurzeln in einer alten Tanzform, die von den Spaniern bei der Eroberung Mexikos im 16. Jahrhundert als ›Danza de conquista‹ aufgeführt wurde, um die Schlachten zwischen muslimischen Mauren und Christen in Europa nachzustellen. Diesen alten ›Eroberungstanz‹ griffen in den 1990er-Jahren Jugendliche aus Matamoros an der Grenze zwischen Mexiko und den USA auf. Sie aktualisierten und etablierten ihn in der von Drogen und Gewalt beherrschten mexikanischen Grenzstadt als alternative Form von Selbstdarstellung im öffentlichen Raum. Amanda Piña nutzt den Wandel dieser traditionellen Tanzform als Inspiration für eine Choreografie, die Hip-Hop-Kultur, koloniale Erzählungen, indigene Praxen und Mystizismus verwebt. ›Frontera I Border‹ ist ein lebendiges Monument, das daran erinnert, dass eine Grenze nicht nur ein Strich auf einer Landkarte ist, sondern sich auch in Körper einkerbt. Zudem ist die Arbeit eine Hommage an die Kraft und die Widerstandsfähigkeit von jenen, die bereit sind, Grenzen zu überschreiten.

›Frontera I Border – A Living Monument‹ ist der vierte Teil von Amanda Piñas Projekt ›Endangered Human Movements‹. Die in Wien und Mexiko-Stadt lebende Tänzerin und Choreografin beschäftigt sich in ihren künstlerischen Arbeiten mit der Entkolonialisierung von Kunst und konzentriert sich dabei auf die politische und soziale Kraft der Bewegung. Piña hebt etablierte Trennungen wie modern und traditionell, Mensch und Tier oder Natur und Kultur temporär auf und ist auf der Suche nach neuen Rahmenbedingungen für die Entwicklung von Kunst.

Amanda Piña zählt zu den führenden Choreografinnen Europas. Ihre Arbeiten wurden u. a. in der Fondation Cartier pour l’Art Contemporain Paris, MUMOK Museum of Modern Art, Tanzquartier Wien, ImpulsTanz Festival, Royal Festival Hall in London, Museo Universitario del Chopo in Mexiko Stadt und HAU – Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin gezeigt. Seit 2008 leitet Piña den Galerieraum nadaLokal in Wien gemeinsam mit dem Schweizer Visual Artist Daniel Zimmermann, mit dem sie auch ›nadaproductions‹ gründete.

– – –
Das sagt die Presse:

»Eine starke, faszinierende Performance – und ein ausgelassenes Fest« (Der Tagesspiegel)

Eine Produktion von nadaproductions in Koproduktion mit dem asphalt Festival, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Arts Finland und gefördert von der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien; unterstützt vom Mexikanischen Ministerium für auswärtige Angelegenheiten, der National School of Folkloric Dance of Mexico, INBA und National Institute of Fine Arts Mexico

mit Matteo Marziano Graziano, Daphna Horenczyk, Dafne del Carmen Moreno, Juan Carlos Palma Velasco, Rodrigo de la Torre Coronado, Lina María Venegas, Mariê Mazer, Carlos María Romero aka Atabey Mamasita, Jorgue luis Cruz Carrera
Künstlerische Leitung & Choreografie: Amanda Piña
Art Design: Michel Jimenez
Choreografie & Übertragung danza de Matamoros: Rodrigo de la Torre Coronado
Recherche: Juan Carlos Palma Velasco, Amanda Piña
Musik & Komposition: Christian Müller
Live-Percussion: Jorgue luis Cruz Carrera
Kostüm: La mata del veinte / Julia Trybula

Dramaturgie: Nicole Haitzinger

nadaproductions.at