World Premiere

Haraka haraka haina baraka

Cooperativa Maura Morales
So 3 Juli 2022 16:00
Mo 4 Juli 2022 19:30
Di 5 Juli 2022 19:30
zur Zeit
ausverkauft

– – –

Audience discussion following the performances

How do
young
African

dancers
relate
to the

traditions
of their
country?

The choreography ‘Haraka haraka haina baraka’ (engl.: ‘Haste has no Blessing’) is a cooperation between Cooperativa Maura Morales and MUDA Africa, a professional dance centre in Daresalaam, where young people study traditional and contemporary African dance. The work addresses the ambivalent relationship of young African artists to the traditions of their own country. The rapid change and the redefinition of social and cultural values of a society on the move are artistically processed using the example of female body politics. Maura Morales – who grew up in the midst of Cuba’s Afro-Cuban culture – sensitively traces cultural roots and differences.

The core collective of the contemporary dance company Cooperativa Maura Morales consists of the dancer and choreographer Maura Morales and the composer and musician Michio Woirgardt. Depending on the concept and scope of the respective project, the ensemble is expanded to include other artists. The company, which has been in existence since 2010, has already realised numerous stage pieces, regularly receives invitations from renowned international dance festivals, state and municipal theatres and tours nationally and internationally. The Cooperativa was awarded the Kurt Jooss Prize in 2013 and the Award for the Performing Arts of the state capital Düsseldorf in 2014.

A production of Cooperativa Maura Morales in co-production with asphalt Festival and MUDA Africa, supported by the Goethe-Institut Tanzania and the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia as part of the project HUMAN BEING HUMAN

with Catherine John Mkude, Godchance Mariko Eben, Ian Ephraim Mwaisunga, Sisti Richard Mushi, Ulonzi Rajabu Almasi  

Choreography + Artistic Direction: Maura Morales
Composition: Michio Woirgardt
Assistant: Rachel Mkunde Kessi

mauramorales.de
mudaafricadance.org

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Uraufführung

Haraka haraka haina baraka

Cooperativa Maura Morales
So 3 Juli 2022 16:00
Mo 4 Juli 2022 19:30
Di 5 Juli 2022 19:30
zur Zeit
ausverkauft

Spielort: Weltkunstzimmer, Glashalle

– – –
Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss an die Vorstellungen

Wie
stehen

junge
afrika-
nische

Tänzer-
:innen

zur
Tradition

ihres
Landes?

Die Choreografie ›Haraka haraka haina baraka‹ (dt: ›Eile mit Weile‹) ist eine Kooperation der Cooperativa Maura Morales mit MUDA Africa, einem professionellem Tanzzentrum in Daresalaam, in dem junge Menschen traditionellen und zeitgenössischen afrikanischen Tanz studieren. Die Arbeit thematisiert das ambivalente Verhältnis junger afrikanischer Künstler:innen gegenüber der Tradition ihres eigenen Landes. Der rasante Wandel sowie die Neuterminierung sozialer und kultureller Werte einer sich im Aufbruch befindenden Gesellschaft werden am Beispiel weiblicher Körperpolitik künstlerisch verarbeitet. Maura Morales – aufgewachsen inmitten der afrokubanischen Kultur Kubas – spürt sensibel kulturellen Wurzeln und Differenzen nach.

Die zeitgenössische Tanzkompanie Cooperativa Maura Morales besteht im Kernkollektiv aus der Tänzerin und Choreografin Maura Morales und dem Komponisten und Musiker Michio Woirgardt. Je nach Konzept und Umfang des jeweiligen Projekts wird das Ensemble um weitere Künstler:innen erweitert. Die seit 2010 bestehende Kompanie hat bereits zahlreiche Bühnenstücke realisiert, erhält regelmäßig Einladungen von renommierten internationalen Tanzfestivals, Staats- und Stadttheatern und tourt national sowie international. Die Cooperativa wurde 2013 mit dem Kurt-Jooss-Preis und 2014 mit dem Förderpreis für Darstellende Kunst der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf ausgezeichnet.

Eine Produktion der Cooperativa Maura Morales in Koproduktion mit dem asphalt Festival und MUDA Africa, gefördert vom Goethe-Institut Tansania und dem Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW im Rahmen des Projekts HUMAN BEING HUMAN

mit Catherine John Mkude, Godchance Mariko Eben, Ian Ephraim Mwaisunga, Sisti Richard Mushi, Ulonzi Rajabu Almasi  

Choreografie + künstlerische Leitung: Maura Morales
Komposition: Michio Woirgardt
Assistenz: Rachel Mkunde Kessi

mauramorales.de
mudaafricadance.org