Jelena Popržan

La Folia
Concert

– – –
Event with headphones
The Seebühne at the Schwanenspiegel floats on the water while the audience sits on the terraces on the shore. In order to connect the audience with what is happening on stage, a headphone system is used that is sanitised before each use.

»
A
great
voice
«
(FAZ)

Wherever you want to place Jelena Popržan stylistically – whether new and old music, world music, singer-songwriter, cabaret, new Viennese song (Wienerlied), folk or jazz – the musician and singer takes the best ingredients from all these genres and serves up her very own mixture of sound.

About ten years ago, Popržan started hitting Vienna’s stages with the duo ‘Catch-Pop String-Strong’, and with the ensembles ‘Madame Baheux’ and ‘Sormeh’ she consolidated her reputation as an imaginative arranger, expressive vocal artist and entertainer with comedic talent and political commitment. At the asphalt Festival, the beguiling singer and great violist presents her current solo programme on the Seebühne at the Schwanenspiegel. Her instruments and technical equipment include a five-string viola, a mouth organ, a glass harp and a looper. In addition, Jelena Popržan is a wonderful storyteller and sings in several languages. A varied revue can be expected, with songs, compositions, sounds, homages to forgotten traditions and unforgettable new impressions.

Jelena Popržan was born in Serbia, began studying viola in Belgrade and continued her studies in Austria in 2002, where she still lives and works today. In addition to her solo and band projects, she also writes music for the theatre and works with artists from a variety of genres. In 2020 she released her solo album ‘La Folia’. Popržan is a multiple award winner – she won among others the Vojin Draškoci Award 2020 of the World Music Association of Serbia, the First Niederstätter surPrize 2021 and was nominated and awarded several times at the Austrian Nestroy Theatre Prize and Stella Prize for her theatre music.

– – –
The press says:

“One of the most versatile and adaptable musicians in the country” (Radio Ö1, Jazz Magazine).

“Jelena Popržan delivers a piece of music that is wonderfully captivating and is able to entertain with style of the highest order.” (MICA-Music Austria on ‘La Folia’)

Sponsored by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of NRW as part of the #Kunststörer project.

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Jelena Popržan

La Folia
Konzert
Mo 27 Juni 2022 20:00

Spielort: Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel

– – –
Veranstaltung mit Kopfhörern
Die Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel schwimmt auf dem Wasser, während das Publikum auf den Terrassen am Ufer sitzt. Um die Zuschauer:innen mit dem Geschehen auf der Bühne zu verbinden, kommt ein Kopfhörersystem zum Einsatz, das vor jeder Nutzung frisch desinfiziert wird.

»
Eine
große
Stimme
«
(FAZ)

Wo immer man Jelena Popržan stilistisch verorten will: Ob Neue und Alte Musik, World Music, Singer-Songwriting, Kabarett, Neues Wienerlied, Folk oder Jazz – die Musikerin und Sängerin saugt sich den Nektar aus all diesen Genres und lässt ihre ureigene Mischung daraus gären.

Vor rund zehn Jahren begann Popržan mit dem Duo ›Catch-Pop String-Strong‹ Wiens Bühnen unsicher zu machen, auch mit den Ensembles ›Madame Baheux‹ und ›Sormeh‹ festigte sie ihren Ruf als einfallsreiche Arrangeurin, expressive Stimmkünstlerin und Entertainerin mit komödiantischem Talent und politischem Engagement. Beim asphalt Festival präsentiert die betörende Sängerin und großartige Bratschistin auf der Seebühne ihr aktuelles Soloprogramm. An Instrumenten und technischem Equipment hat sie unter anderem eine fünfsaitige Bratsche, eine Maulgeige, eine Glasharfe und einen Looper im Gepäck. Zudem ist Jelena Popržan eine wunderbare Geschichtenerzählerin und singt in mehreren Sprachen. Eine abwechslungsreiche Revue darf erwartet werden, mit Songs, Kompositionen, Sounds, Hommagen an vergessene Traditionen und unvergessliches Neues.

Jelena Popržan wurde in Serbien geboren, begann ein Violastudium in Belgrad und setzte es 2002 in Österreich fort, wo sie bis heute lebt und arbeitet. Neben ihren Solo- und Bandprojekten schreibt sie auch Musik für das Theater und arbeitet interdisziplinär mit verschiedenen Künstler:innen. 2020 veröffentlichte sie ihr Soloalbum ›La Folia‹. Popržan ist vielfach preisgekrönt – sie gewann u. a. den Vojin Draškoci Award 2020 der World Music Association von Serbien, den Ersten Niederstätter surPrize 2021 und wurde mehrfach beim österreichischen Nestroy-Theaterpreis und Stella-Preis für ihre Theatermusiken nominiert und ausgezeichnet.

– – –
Das sagt die Presse:

»Eine der vielseitigsten und wandlungsfähigsten Musikerinnen des Landes« (Radio Ö1, Jazz-Magazin)

»Jelena Popržan liefert ein Stück Musik ab, das auf wunderbare Weise zu fesseln vermag und in höchstem Maße mit Stil zu unterhalten weiß.« (MICA-Music Austria über ›La Folia‹)

Gefördert vom Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW im Rahmen des Projektes #Kunststörer