World Premiere

LOST

Forum Urbane Tanzkunst / Babylon ORCHESTRA

– – –

Audience discussion following all evening performances

Urban
Dance
meets
Fusion
Big
Band

This asphalt co-production, which will be premiered at this year’s festival, is truly innovative and transgressive: Street culture dancers around the Forum Urbane Tanzkunst (FUT) around choreographer Takao Baba meet musicians from the Babylon ORCHESTRA, a big band with a transcultural composition under the direction of Mischa Tangian. Urban dance such as hip hop, krump, popping, voguing and breaking is combined with the sounds of Arab instruments, classical strings and electronic beats. At the centre of the artistic approach is the idea of classical virtues, which are examined for their topicality in order to find out how a diverse coexistence with different cultures and values can be possible. In close cooperation between the musicians and dancers, the artistic and cultural roots of each individual are explored and the motif of virtues is interpreted in music and dance.

The theme of diversity is closely linked to the values of society. The dance and music performance ‘LOST’ questions which virtues are important in a society where racism, cultural appropriation and abuse of power influence coexistence. What role do virtues play in art? Is loyalty to the leading figure of a choreographer or composer still appropriate? How can this be questioned? What does truthfulness mean for artists and what significance does art have for the transmission of values?

Following the premiere of ‘2 Legit’ at asphalt 2021, Takao Baba and Mischa Tangian are now guests with a major stage production, the third joint work by the two exceptional artists.

Takao Baba is a choreographer and dancer. The roots of his work lie in urban dance, which he combines with the forms of expression of contemporary dance. With his dance company E-Motion, Takao Baba regularly develops dance theatre productions and is co-founder of the platform Dance Unity, which organises Germany’s most important urban dance events ‘Funkin’ Stylez’ and ‘Juste Debout’. As a dancer and choreographer, he has recently been involved in productions at the Düsseldorf Schauspielhaus, among others.

The Moscow-born composer, violinist and orchestra leader Mischa Tangian has received numerous awards as a scholarship holder and prize winner of numerous competitions. In 2016, Tangian founded the Babylon ORCHESTRA, which brings together musicians from the Middle East and Europe and develops new music between modern classical, jazz and world music. The ensemble plays concerts at home and abroad and also realises joint projects with major symphony orchestras. The Babylon ORCHESTRA’s debut album with compositions by Mischa Tangian received the German Record Critics’ Award for the best world music album in 2020.

Singer Mary May has a captivating stage presence and easily mesmerises audiences with her dynamic voice. Her music is influenced by artists such as Lauryn Hill, Radiohead and Björk, blending traditional reggae, soul and Afro-Cuban rhythms effortlessly with her Congolese roots. In recent years, she has sung with artists such as Roy Ayers, Harrisson Stafford, Naâman and Jamaican legends Israel Vibration. 

A production of Forum Urbane Tanzkunst e. V. in co-production with asphalt Festival Düsseldorf, supported by the Cultural Office of the State Capital Düsseldorf, the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, NRW Landesbüro Freie Darstellende Künste, supported by the NATIONAL PERFORMANCE NETWORK – STEPPING OUT, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the NEUSTART KULTUR initiative, dance assistance programme.

Dance: Hanna Vien, Klesio Moreira, Patrick Williams ›Twoface‹, Surena Fazalazar, Solomon Quaynoo
Artistic Direction, Choreography: Takao Baba
Artistic Direction, Composition: Mischa Tangian
Music: Azin Zahedi, Mary May, Deniz Mahir Kartal, Martin Knörzer, Michael Glucksmann, Nils  Marquadt, Osama Abdulrasol, Peter Kuhnsch, Peter Somos, Valentin Link, Yuliesky Gonzalez
Dramaturgy: Célestine Hennermann
Production Management: Melissa Müller, Susanne Berthold
Organisation Orchestra: Mina Takei
Technical Direction: Nemedia, Malte Lehmann
Sound Engineer: Pascal Gehrke

funkin-stylez.com
babylonorchestra.com

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Uraufführung

LOST

Forum Urbane Tanzkunst / Babylon ORCHESTRA
Fr 8 Juli 2022 19:30
Sa 9 Juli 2022 16:00
Sa 9 Juli 2022 20:30
So 10 Juli 2022 16:00

Spielort: Weltkunstzimmer, Glashalle

– – –

Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss an alle Abendvorstellungen

Urban
Dance
trifft
Fusion
Big
Band

Wahrhaft grenzüberschreitend ist diese asphalt-Koproduktion, die auf dem diesjährigen Festival uraufgeführt wird: Street-Culture-Tänzer:innen des Forums Urbane Tanzkunst (FUT) rund um den Choreografen Takao Baba treffen auf Musiker:innen des Babylon ORCHESTRA, einer Big Band mit transkultureller Zusammensetzung unter der Leitung von Mischa Tangian. Urbaner Tanz wie Hip Hop, Krump, Popping, Voguing und Breaking wird kombiniert mit Klängen arabischer Instrumente, klassischer Streicher und elektronischer Beats. Im Zentrum der künstlerischen Annäherung steht die Idee der klassischen Tugenden, die auf ihre Aktualität hin untersucht werden, um herauszufinden, wie ein diverses Zusammenleben mit verschiedenen Kulturen und Wertevorstellungen möglich ist. In enger Kooperation zwischen den Musiker:innen und Tänzer:innen werden die künstlerischen und kulturellen Wurzeln jedes einzelnen ausgelotet und unter dem Motiv der Tugenden in Musik und Tanz übersetzt.

Das Thema Diversität ist eng verknüpft mit den Wertevorstellungen der Gesellschaft. Die Tanz- und Musik-Performance ›LOST‹ hinterfragt, welche Tugenden in einer Gesellschaft wichtig sind, in der Rassismus, kulturelle Aneignung und Machtmissbrauch das Zusammenleben beeinflussen. Welche Rolle spielen Tugenden in der Kunst? Ist die Loyalität zur Leitungsfigur eines Choreografen bzw. einer Choreografin oder Komponist:in noch zeitgemäß? Wie kann diese hinterfragt werden? Was bedeutet Wahrhaftigkeit für Kunstschaffende und welche Bedeutung hat Kunst für die Vermittlung von Werten?

Nach der Premiere von ›2 Legit‹ bei asphalt 2021 sind Takao Baba und Mischa Tangian nun mit einer großen Bühnenproduktion zu Gast, der dritten gemeinsamen Arbeit der beiden Ausnahmekünstler.

Takao Baba ist Choreograf und Tänzer. Die Wurzeln seiner Arbeit liegen im urbanen Tanz, den er mit den Ausdrucksformen des zeitgenössischen Tanzes verbindet. Takao Baba entwickelt mit seiner Tanzkompanie E-Motion regelmäßig Tanztheaterproduktionen und ist Mitbegründer der Plattform Dance Unity, die Deutschlands bedeutendsten urbanen Tanzveranstaltungen ›Funkin’ Stylez‹ und ›Juste Debout‹ ausrichtet. Als Tänzer und Choreograf war er zuletzt u. a. an Produktionen des Düsseldorfer Schauspielhauses beteiligt.

Der aus Moskau stammende Komponist, Geiger und Orchesterleiter Mischa Tangian wurde als Stipendiat und Preisträger zahlreicher Wettbewerbe mehrfach ausgezeichnet. 2016 gründete Tangian das Babylon ORCHESTRA, das Musiker:innen aus dem Mittleren Osten und Europa zusammenführt und neue Musik zwischen moderner Klassik, Jazz und Weltmusik entwickelt. Das Ensemble spielt Konzerte im In- und Ausland und setzt u. a. auch gemeinsame Projekte mit großen Symphonieorchestern um. Das Debütalbum des Babylon ORCHESTRA mit Kompositionen von Mischa Tangian erhielt 2020 den Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik für das beste Weltmusikalbum.

Eine Produktion von Forum Urbane Tanzkunst e. V. in Koproduktion mit dem asphalt Festival Düsseldorf, gefördert durch das Kulturamt der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf, das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW, NRW Landesbüro Freie Darstellende Künste, unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR, Hilfsprogramm Tanz

Tanz: Sefa Demirbas, Surena Fazalazar, Miro Mitrovic, Solomon Quaynoo, Patrick Williams ›Twoface‹, N.N.
Künstlerische Leitung, Choreographie: Takao Baba
Künstlerische Leitung, Komposition: Mischa Tangian
Musik: Babylon Orchestra (wird noch ergänzt)
Dramaturgie: Célestine Hennermann
Produktionsleitung: Melissa Müller, Susanne Berthold
Organisation Orchester: Mina Takei
Technische Leitung: Malte Lehmann
Tontechnik: Thomas Wegner

funkin-stylez.com
babylonorchestra.com