Nikitch & Kuna Maze

Jazz, Beats & Electronics
Concert
Fr 8 Juli 2022 20:00
zur Zeit
ausverkauft

– – –
Event with headphones
The Seebühne at the Schwanenspiegel floats on the water while the audience sits on the terraces on the shore. In order to connect the audience with what is happening on stage, a headphone system is used that is sanitised before each use.

»
This
is a
good
one
«
(Gilles Peterson, BBC Radio)

Nikitch & Kuna Maze belong to a new generation of musicians, producers and DJs who fuse jazz and club culture in their music. The French-Belgian duo’s signature sound combines jazz, downbeat and hip-hop, pulsating beats, crisp groove and gritty synth cosmos textures.

The collaboration between musician Nicolas Morant aka Nikitch and Brussels producer Edouard Gilbert aka Kuna Maze began when the duo met at the Chambery Jazz Conservatory in France. Before studying jazz, both had enjoyed classical music training. In order to try something new and to balance out their studies, the duo started making electronic music together. Influenced by artists like Flying Lotus, Roy Hargrove, Thundercat, Esböjrn Svensson Trio and Erykah Badu, Nikitch & Kuna Maze combine elements of jazz, broken beat and a wide range of electronic music into a danceable, club-ready pack of sounds.

Nikitch & Kuna Maze play at major jazz festivals as well as in small basement clubs, have played a brilliant set at the Worldwide Festival and have supported ‘Machinedrum’. Gilles Peterson, Tom Ravenscroft, Nemone, Lauren Laverne and other influential DJs and radio presenters simply love the duo. All are convinced: the future of Nikitch & Kuna Maze looks bright and the international breakthrough does not seem far away.

– – –
What the press says:

“Breathtaking, break-heavy rhythm dressed in a smooth melody and that relaxed atmosphere typical of the French smoky beatmaking scene” (Tsugi Magazine).

“Killer dancefloor business from the Tru Thoughts label that should please fans of house, broken beat and Brazilian jazz-funk legends Azymuth.” (Music Is My Sanctuary)

Sponsored by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of NRW as part of the #Kunststörer project.

Nicolas ‘Nikitch’ Morant: Keys, Flute, Sequences
Edouard ‘Kuna Maze’ Gilbert: Bass
Victor Pascal: Drums

nikitchkunamaze.bandcamp.com

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Nikitch & Kuna Maze

Jazz, Beats & Electronics
Konzert
Fr 8 Juli 2022 20:00
zur Zeit
ausverkauft

– – –
Veranstaltung mit Kopfhörern
Die Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel schwimmt auf dem Wasser, während das Publikum auf den Terrassen am Ufer sitzt. Um die Zuschauer:innen mit dem Geschehen auf der Bühne zu verbinden, kommt ein Kopfhörersystem zum Einsatz, das vor jeder Nutzung frisch desinfiziert wird.

»
This
is a
good
one
«
(Gilles Peterson, BBC Radio)

Nikitch & Kuna Maze gehören zu einer neuen Generation von Musiker:innen, Produzent:innen und DJs, die in ihrer Musik Jazz und Clubkultur verschmelzen. Der charakteristische Sound des französisch-belgischen Duos verbindet Jazz, Downbeat und Hip-Hop, pulsierende Beats, knackigen Groove und körnige Synthie-Kosmos-Texturen.

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Musiker Nicolas Morant alias Nikitch und dem Brüsseler Produzenten Edouard Gilbert alias Kuna Maze begann, als sich das Duo am Jazzkonservatorium von Chambery in Frankreich kennenlernte. Vor ihrem Jazzstudium hatten beide eine klassische Musikausbildung genossen. Um etwas Neues auszuprobieren und einen Ausgleich zu den Studieninhalten zu schaffen, begann das Duo gemeinsam elektronische Musik zu machen. Beeinflusst von Künstler:innen wie Flying Lotus, Roy Hargrove, Thundercat, Esbjörn Svensson Trio und Erykah Badu, schnüren Nikitch & Kuna Maze Einflüsse aus Jazz, Broken Beat und einer breiten Palette elektronischer Musik zu einem tanzbaren, clubtauglichen Paket.

Nikitch & Kuna Maze spielen bei hochklassigen Jazzfestivals ebenso wie in kleinen Kellerclubs, haben u. a. ein fulminantes Set auf dem Worldwide Festival hingelegt und sind als Support von ›Machinedrum‹ aufgetreten. Gilles Peterson, Tom Ravenscroft, Nemone, Lauren Laverne und andere einflussreiche DJs und Radiomoderator:innen zeigen sich von dem Duo schlichtweg begeistert. Alle sind überzeugt: Die Zukunft von Nikitch & Kuna Maze sieht rosig aus und der internationale Durchbruch scheint nicht mehr fern.

– – –
Das sagt die Presse:

»Atemberaubender, breaklastiger Rhythmus, gekleidet in eine sanfte Melodie und diese entspannte Atmosphäre, die für die französische Szene des rauchigen Beatmakings typisch ist« (Tsugi Magazine)

»Killer Dancefloor Business vom Label Tru Thoughts, das Fans von House, Broken Beat und den brasilianischen Jazz-Funk-Legenden Azymuth gefallen dürfte.« (Music Is My Sanctuary)

Gefördert vom Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW im Rahmen des Projektes #Kunststörer

Nicolas ›Nikitch‹ Morant: Keys, Flöte, Sequences
Edouard ›Kuna Maze‹ Gilbert: Bass
Victor Pascal: Schlagzeug

nikitchkunamaze.bandcamp.com