Schiller Balladen Rave

Philipp Hochmair & Die Elektrohand Gottes

– – –
Duration: approx. 90 min.

»
The ballads
are like fuel
to be
burned off
with the
machinery
of our
devices.
«
(Philipp Hochmair)

Together with his band Die Elektrohand Gottes, Philipp Hochmair transforms Schiller’s famous ballads into an excessive rock concert – fine German lyricism meets electro beats. Hochmair reaches into Schiller’s epic linguistic oeuvre, searches for the throbbing heartbeat of its words and exhausts himself in an intoxicating, spoken word concert. For the celebrated actor, the over 200-year-old verses are an absolute elixir of life; for him, they have nothing to do with compulsory schooling or educated bourgeoisie, but with techno, industrial and ecstasy. Under the rhythmic electro-rock sounds of Die Elektrohand Gottes and Hochmair’s extreme stage performance, the explosive energy of classics like ‘Die Bürgschaft’, ‘Der Handschuh’, ‘Der Ring des Polykrates’, ‘Der Taucher’ or ‘Das Lied von der Glocke’ is revealed. You’ve never heard Schiller like this before!

The high-performance actor Philipp Hochmair is always on fire, always giving his all – theatre can hardly be experienced more intensely. He was a member of the ensemble at the Burgtheater in Vienna and the Thalia Theater in Hamburg for many years and is a regular guest on the major German-language stages. He is known to a wider audience through numerous film and television roles, including as a blind inspector in the Vienna crime series ‘Blind ermittelt’, as a forensic doctor in the series ‘Charité’, as the protagonist of the series ‘Vorstadtweiber’ or most recently as an SS general in the ZDF/ORF production ‘Wannseekonferenz’. Hochmair has already been a guest at the asphalt Festival three times: in 2018 with two Kafka evenings, in 2017 with his ‘Werther’ solo and last year with ‘Jedermann reloaded’. ‘Schiller Balladen Rave’ is Hochmair’s latest production.

– – –
The press says:

“You follow these lines familiar from your own school days, perceive their content anew and abandon yourself to a tension-filled linguistic frenzy to industrial, rock and techno sounds.” (Hamburger Abendblatt)

“Those who feared ‘Die Glocke’ in their school days will really hear it ringing in Hochmair’s version.” (GQ)

“Hochmair’s Schiller isn’t old-fashioned German on dusty pages, it’s a physical experience, demanding, eclectic and all-encompassing.” (Austrian Limited)

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

With kind support of Cubit

with Philipp Hochmair
Electronics, Drum Machine: Rajko Gohlke
Guitar, Sampler: Tobias Herzz Hallbauer
Synthesizer, Electronics, Sound Machine, Theremin, Stahlwerk: Jörg Schittkowski
Lighting and Sound Design: Hanns Clasen
Video Art: Lucia Flaig
Production, Assistance: Melika Ramic

Photos ©: Heike Blenk (title, gallery N° 2, 4 – 10), Stephan Brückler (gallery N° 1, 3, 11)

philipphochmair.com
elektrohand.com

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Schiller Balladen Rave

Philipp Hochmair & Die Elektrohand Gottes
Sa 2 Juli 2022 19:30

Spielort: Alte Farbwerke, Open-Air-Bühne

– – –
Dauer: ca. 90 Min.

»
Die Balladen
sind wie
Zündstoff,
den wir mit der
Maschinerie

unserer Geräte
abbrennen
wollen.

«
(Philipp Hochmair)

Gemeinsam mit seiner Band Die Elektrohand Gottes verwandelt Philipp Hochmair Schillers berühmte Balladen in ein exzessives Rockkonzert – feine deutsche Lyrik meets Elektro-Beats. Hochmair greift in das große Sprachwerk Schillers hinein, sucht den pochenden Herzschlag der Worte und verausgabt sich in einem rauschhaften Sprachkonzert. Die über 200 Jahre alten Verse sind für den Starschauspieler absolutes Lebenselixier, sie haben für ihn nichts mit Schulzwang oder Bildungsbürgertum zu tun, sondern mit Techno, Industrial und Ekstase. Unter den rhythmischen Elektro-Rock-Klängen der Elektrohand Gottes und der extremen Bühnenperformance Hochmairs zeigt sich die explosive Energie von Klassikern wie ›Die Bürgschaft‹, ›Der Handschuh‹, ›Der Ring des Polykrates‹, ›Der Taucher‹ oder ›Das Lied von der Glocke‹. So hat man Schiller noch nie gehört!

Der Hochleistungsschauspieler Philipp Hochmair steht immer unter Strom, gibt immer alles – intensiver lässt sich Theater kaum erleben. Er war viele Jahre Ensemblemitglied am Wiener Burgtheater und am Thalia Theater in Hamburg und ist regelmäßig auf den großen deutschsprachigen Bühnen zu Gast. Einem breiteren Publikum ist er durch zahlreiche Film- und Fernsehrollen bekannt, u. a. als blinder Kommissar in den Wien-Krimis ›Blind ermittelt‹, als Gerichtsmediziner in der Serie ›Charité‹, als Protagonist der Serie ›Vorstadtweiber‹ oder jüngst als SS-General in der ZDF/ORF-Produktion ›Wannseekonferenz‹. Beim asphalt Festival war Hochmair bereits dreimal zu Gast: 2018 mit zwei Kafka-Abenden, 2017 mit seinem ›Werther‹-Solo und im vergangenen Jahr mit ›Jedermann reloaded‹. ›Schiller Balladen Rave‹ ist Hochmairs jüngste Produktion.

– – –
Das sagt die Presse:

»Man folgt diesen aus der eigenen Schulzeit vertrauten Zeilen, nimmt ihren Inhalt neu wahr und überlässt sich einem spannungsgeladenen Sprach-Rausch zu Industrial-, Rock- und Techno-Klängen.« (Hamburger Abendblatt)

»Wer ›Die Glocke‹ in der Schulzeit fürchtete, wird sie in Hochmairs Version erst richtig läuten hören.« (GQ)

»Hochmairs Schiller ist nicht altmodisches Deutsch auf verstaubtem Papier, er ist eine körperliche Erfahrung, fordernd, (er)schöpfend.« (Austrian Limited)

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Cubit

mit Philipp Hochmair
Electronics, Drum Machine: Rajko Gohlke
Gitarre, Sampler: Tobias Herzz Hallbauer
Synthesizer, Electronics, Klangmaschine, Theremin, Stahlwerk: Jörg Schittkowski
Licht und Sounddesign: Hanns Clasen
Videokunst: Lucia Flaig
Produktion, Assistenz: Melika Ramic

Fotos ©: Heike Blenk (Titel, Galerie Bilder 2, 4 – 10), Stephan Brückler (Galerie Bilder 1, 3, 11)

philipphochmair.com
elektrohand.com