Tanja Maljartschuk

Blauwal der Erinnerung
Reading

Event cancelled
Due to illness, the reading by Tanja Maljartschuk on 2 July on the Seebühne can unfortunately not take place. Guests who have already purchased tickets in advance will be contacted by us.

»
An
outstanding
narrator
who writes
against
the
erasure
of
Ukrainian
history.
«
(volksblatt.at)

The current novel by Bachmann Prize winner Tanja Maljartschuk shows what it means when one’s own identity consists of fear, obedience and forgetting. In ‘Blauwal der Erinnerung‘, Maljartschuk masterfully links the life of a forgotten Ukrainian folk hero with that of the nameless first-person narrator: she searches for traces in his past in order to better cope with her own present.

A woman, thrown off track after unhappy relationships, suffers from panic attacks and obsessive-compulsive disorder and does not leave her flat for months. She finds orientation and support in a historical figure who played a major role in the history of Ukraine: Vyacheslav Lypynskyj. The passionate philosopher of history and politician came from a Polish noble family living in western Ukraine. He identified with Ukraine at an early age and insisted on the Ukrainian form of his name. After graduating, he became politically and historically involved with the country, which was torn between Poland and Russia, and obsessively demanded its state independence – a struggle that took him through various countries and resulted in personal sacrifices.

Similarly sickly and in search of belonging as Lypynskyj, the narrator follows this proud, uncompromising, hypochondriac man to defy Soviet uprooting through memory.

Tanja Maljartschuk (*1983 in Iwano-Frankiwsk, Ukraine) first worked as a journalist in Kiev after studying philology. In 2009, her short story collection ‘Nine Percent Household Vinegar’ was published in German, in 2013 her novel ‘Biography of an Accidental Miracle’ and in 2014 ‘Of Rabbits and Other Europeans’. In 2016, the original version of ‘Blue Whale of Memory’ was awarded Book of the Year by BBC Ukrainian, and in 2018 Maljartschuk received the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize in Klagenfurt for the text ‘Frogs in the Sea’. The author writes regular columns for Deutsche Welle (Ukraine) and Zeit Online and has lived in Vienna since 2011.

– – –
What the press says:

“A novel that dares and wins: How Tanja Maljartschuk intertwines the small and big stories of her characters, how she tells the story of her homeland, in very different literary forms and yet always remaining true to her style, is as convincing as it is impressive.” (taz)

“A successful literary venture” (SWR 2)

“An exceptionally ambitious work that captivates with its clear, level-headed language.” (Stern)

Supported by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia as part of the #Kunststörer project.

by and with Tanja Maljartschuk

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Tanja Maljartschuk

Blauwal der Erinnerung
Lesung
Sa 2 Juli 2022 20:00

Spielort: Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel

– – –
Veranstaltung mit Kopfhörern
Die Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel schwimmt auf dem Wasser, während das Publikum auf den Terrassen am Ufer sitzt. Um die Zuschauer:innen mit dem Geschehen auf der Bühne zu verbinden, kommt ein Kopfhörersystem zum Einsatz, das vor jeder Nutzung frisch desinfiziert wird.

»
Eine
heraus-
ragende
Erzählerin,
die gegen
das Aus-
radieren
ukrainischer
Geschichte
anschreibt.
«
(volksblatt.at)

Der aktuelle Roman der Bachmann-Preisträgerin Tanja Maljartschuk zeigt, was es heißt, wenn die eigene Identität aus Angst, Gehorsamkeit und Vergessen besteht. In ›Blauwal der Erinnerung‹ verknüpft Maljartschuk das Leben eines vergessenen ukrainischen Volkshelden auf kunstvolle Weise mit dem der namenlosen Ich-Erzählerin: Sie sucht in dessen Vergangenheit nach Spuren, um besser mit ihrer eigenen Gegenwart zurechtzukommen.

Eine Frau leidet, nach unglücklichen Beziehungen aus der Bahn geworfen, unter Panikattacken und Zwangsneurosen und verlässt monatelang nicht die Wohnung. Sie findet Orientierung und Halt in einer historischen Figur, die für die Geschichte der Ukraine eine große Rolle spielte: Wjatscheslaw Lypynskyj. Der leidenschaftliche Geschichtsphilosoph und Politiker entstammte einer polnischen Adelsfamilie, die in der Westukraine lebte. Schon früh identifizierte er sich mit der Ukraine und bestand auf der ukrainischen Form seines Namens. Nach dem Studium befasste er sich politisch und historisch mit dem zwischen Polen und Russland zerrissenen Land und forderte wie besessen seine staatliche Unabhängigkeit – ein Kampf, der ihn durch verschiedene Länder führte und persönliche Opfer kostete.

Ähnlich kränklich und auf der Suche nach Zugehörigkeit wie Lypynskyj, folgt die Erzählerin diesem stolzen, kompromisslosen, hypochondrischen Mann, um durch die Erinnerung der sowjetischen Entwurzelung zu trotzen.

Tanja Maljartschuk (*1983 in Iwano-Frankiwsk, Ukraine) arbeitete nach ihrem Philologie-Studium zunächst als Journalistin in Kiew. 2009 erschien ihr Erzählband ›Neunprozentiger Haushaltsessig‹ auf Deutsch, 2013 ihr Roman ›Biografie eines zufälligen Wunders‹ und 2014 ›Von Hasen und anderen Europäern‹. 2016 wurde die Originalfassung von ›Blauwal der Erinnerung‹ von BBC Ukrainian als Buch des Jahres ausgezeichnet, 2018 erhielt Maljartschuk für den Text ›Frösche im Meer‹ in Klagenfurt den Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis. Die Autorin schreibt regelmäßig Kolumnen für die Deutsche Welle (Ukraine) und Zeit Online und lebt seit 2011 in Wien.

– – –
Das sagt die Presse:

»Ein Roman, der wagt und gewinnt: Wie Tanja Maljartschuk die kleinen und großen Geschichten ihrer Figuren miteinander verschränkt, wie sie die Geschichte ihrer Heimat erzählt, in sehr unterschiedlichen literarischen Formen und doch immer ihrem Stil treu bleibend, ist so überzeugend wie beeindruckend.« (taz)

»Ein gelungenes literarisches Wagnis« (SWR 2)

»Ein außergewöhnlich ambitioniertes Werk, das durch seine klare, besonnene Sprache besticht.« (Stern)

Gefördert vom Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW im Rahmen des Projektes #Kunststörer

von und mit Tanja Maljartschuk