World Premiere

Visions of Excess

Contemporary composition by Bojan Vuletić
Fireworks of virtuosity
Mi 6 Juli 2022 20:30

Spielort: Sammlung Philara

– – –

»
Perhaps
this
inner
longing
for
excess
is one
of the
reasons
why (…)
the
creation
of art is
necessary.
«
(Jacques Taroux, The Art of Disorder)

What happens when people suspend rationality, indulge in a conscious loss of control and instead allow a state of excess? What forces are within us – and do they act creatively or destructively? These questions underlie the new composition by Bojan Vuletić. In his contemporary work for two pianos, trumpet, clarinet, cello and vibraphone, Vuletić deliberately takes the musicians to their limits – and beyond.

Visions of Excess – el sueño de la razon produce monstruos’ is an uncompromising adventure, a game of vabanques with excellent soloists who possess a special virtuosity and masterful musicality. At the same time, they are ready to let go, to trust their impulses and instincts and to experience visions of excess musically. Two outstanding international pianists, Alina Bercu and Asagi Nakata, are at the centre of the performance. This special artistic constellation of opposites is also echoed when symphonic soloists Mariel Roberts and Christoph Schneider encounter the two boundary crossing musicians Matt Moran and Pablo Gīw in the ensemble. Whether Francisco de Goya is right with his sentence “el sueño de la razon produce monstruos” ( transl. “The sleep of reason gives birth to monsters”) will have to be answered after the world premiere of ‘Visions of Excess’ at asphalt 2022.

The Romanian pianist Alina Bercu has performed on many important music stages in Europe, America and Asia, including Carnegie Hall New York, the Tonhalle Zurich and the Tonhalle Düsseldorf. She has worked with renowned orchestras including the Vienna Philharmonic, the Orchestre de chambre Lausanne and the KlassikPhilharmonie Hamburg. Studio and live recordings by Alina Bercu have been included in the Golden Phonotheque of the Romanian Radio. Her debut CD with chamber music works by Schubert and Brahms was awarded the ‘Golden Label’ (Benelux) and ‘Cle d’or’ (France).

Born in Japan and based in London, pianist Asagi Nakata has won a number of first international prizes, including the Budapest Liszt Ferenc Competition, Franz Liszt Weimar and Windsor International Piano Competition. An internationally renowned soloist, she regularly performs on concert stages in Europe, Asia and North Africa and performs live on BBC Radio 3 for the ‘In Tune’ series presented by Sean Rafferty.

Trumpeter and performer Pablo Gīw lives in Cologne and his music is particularly concerned with extended techniques, percussion and noise. With his instrument, he creates dense walls of sound and grooves in which he also incorporates voice, spoken word and acoustic means, thus creating completely new levels of sound.

Born in Frankfurt am Main, clarinettist Christoph Schneider has won numerous prizes as a soloist. He has played at the Staatstheater Wiesbaden, the Beethoven Orchestra Bonn, the Staatstheater Darmstadt, the Orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin and the Frankfurt Opera and Museum Orchestra, among others, and has been 1st solo clarinettist at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein Duisburg for six years.

Matt Moran is a US vibraphonist and percussionist and arranger for Modern Creative. Matt Moran has played with Joe Maneri and in the bands of Paul Flaherty, Reuben Radding, Sufjan Stevens, in the Claudia Quintet with John Hollenbeck and in the band Sideshow, and also as a percussionist with various Balkan folk bands.

American cellist Mariel Roberts has appeared as a soloist and chamber musician across four continents, most notably as a member and co-director of the Wet Ink Ensemble (named “The Best Classical Music Ensemble of 2018” by The New York Times). Her ravenous appetite for collaboration and experimentation as an interpreter, improvisor, and composer have helped create a body of work which bridges avant-garde, contemporary, classical, improvised, and traditional music.

Bojan Vuletić is a composer, sound artist and guitarist. Musical collaborations connect him with Markus Stockhausen, Nate Wooley, Bojan Z, the Mivos Quartet, the WDR Radio Orchestra and Choir and the Düsseldorf Symphony Orchestra, among others. He has also written theatre music for over 50 productions and compositions for several contemporary dance pieces. Audio realisations of exhibitions in collaboration with artist Danica Dakić have been featured at documenta 12 Kassel, the Liverpool Biennale and the Venice Biennale, among others. Vuletić’s works have been performed in various countries in Europe, Africa, Asia and the USA.

– – –

A production commissioned by the asphalt Festival, supported by the Kunststiftung NRW and the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of NRW.

Alina Bercu: Piano
Asagi Nakata: Piano
Pablo Gīw: Trumpet
Christoph Schneider: Clarinet
Matt Moran: Vibraphone
Mariel Roberts: Cello
Bojan Vuletic: Composition, Musical Direction

alinabercu.com
asaginakatapianist.com
giwmusic.com
christoph-schneider-klarinette.de
mattmoran.com
marielroberts.com
bojanvuletic.com

Produkt zum Warenkorb hinzugefügt.
0 Artikel - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Uraufführung

Visions of Excess

Zeitgenössische Komposition von Bojan Vuletić
Feuerwerk der Virtuosität
Mi 6 Juli 2022 20:30

Spielort: Sammlung Philara

– – –

»
Vielleicht
ist diese
innere
Sehnsucht
nach
Exzess
einer der
Gründe,
aus dem
(…) das
Schaffen
von Kunst
notwendig
ist.
«
(Jacques Taroux, Die Kunst der Unordnung)

Was passiert, wenn Menschen die Rationalität aushebeln, sich einem bewussten Kontrollverlust hingeben und stattdessen einen Zustand des Exzesses zulassen? Welche Kräfte stecken in uns – und wirken diese schöpferisch oder zerstörerisch? Diese Fragen liegen der neuen Komposition von Bojan Vuletić zugrunde. In seinem zeitgenössischen Werk für zwei Klaviere, Trompete, Klarinette, Violoncello und Vibraphon führt Vuletić die Musiker:innen bewusst an ihre Grenzen – und darüber hinaus.

›Visions of Excess – el sueño de la razon produce monstruos‹ ist ein kompromissloses Abenteuer, ein Vabanquespiel mit exzellenten Solist:innen, die über eine besondere Virtuosität und meisterhafte Musikalität verfügen. Sie sind zugleich aber auch bereit loszulassen, ihren Impulsen und Instinkten zu vertrauen und Visionen des Exzesses musikalisch zu erleben. Im Zentrum der Performance begegnen sich mit Alina Bercu und Asagi Nakata zwei herausragende internationale Pianistinnen. Die besondere künstlerische Konstellation von Gegensätzen spiegelt sich auch darin, dass im Ensemble die symphonischen Solist:innen Mariel Roberts und Christoph Schneider auf die beiden musikalischen Grenzgänger Matt Moran und Pablo Gīw treffen. Ob Francisco de Goya mit seinem Satz »el sueño de la razon produce monstruos« (dt. »Der Schlaf der Vernunft gebiert Ungeheuer«) Recht behält, wird nach der Uraufführung von ›Visions of Excess‹ bei asphalt 2022 zu beantworten sein.

Die rumänische Pianistin Alina Bercu gastierte auf vielen wichtigen Musikbühnen Europas, Amerikas und Asiens, darunter der Carnegie Hall New York, der Tonhalle Zürich und der Tonhalle Düsseldorf. Sie arbeitete mit namhaften Orchestern zusammen, darunter den Wiener Philharmonikern, dem Orchestre de chambre Lausanne und der KlassikPhilharmonie Hamburg. Studio- und Live-Aufnahmen von Alina Bercu wurden in die Goldene Phonothek des Rumänischen Rundfunks aufgenommen. Ihre Debüt-CD mit Kammermusikwerken von Schubert und Brahms wurde mit dem ›Golden Label‹ (Benelux) und ›Cle d’or‹ (Frankreich) ausgezeichnet.

Die in Japan geborene und in London lebende Pianistin Asagi Nakata hat eine Vielzahl an ersten internationalen Preisen gewonnen, u. a. bei der Budapest Liszt Ferenc Competition, bei Franz Liszt Weimar und bei der Windsor International Piano Competition. Die international renommierte Solistin tritt regelmäßig auf Konzertbühnen in Europa, Asien und Nordafrika auf und spielt auf BBC Radio 3 live für die ›In Tune‹-Serie, die von Sean Rafferty präsentiert wird.

Der Trompeter und Performer Pablo Gīw lebt in Köln und beschäftigt sich in seiner Musik insbesondere mit Extended Techniques, Perkussion und Noise. Mit seinem Instrument schafft er dichte Klangwände und Grooves, bei denen er auch Stimme, Spoken Word und akustische Mittel einbindet und so völlig neue Klangebenen schafft.

Der in Frankfurt am Main geborene Klarinettist Christoph Schneider hat eine Vielzahl an Preisen als Solist gewonnen. Er hat u. a. am Staatstheater Wiesbaden, im Beethoven-Orchester Bonn, dem Staatstheater Darmstadt, im Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin und dem Frankfurter Opern- und Museumsorchester gespielt und ist seit sechs Jahren 1. Soloklarinettist der Deutschen Oper am Rhein Duisburg.

Matt Moran ist ein US-amerikanischer Vibraphonist und Perkussionist und Arrangeur des Modern Creative. Matt Moran spielte mit Joe Maneri und in den Bands von Paul Flaherty, Reuben Radding, Sufjan Stevens, im Claudia Quintet mit John Hollenbeck und in der Band Sideshow, außerdem als Perkussionist mit diversen Balkan-Folkbands.

Die amerikanische Cellistin und Komponistin Mariel Roberts ist als Solistin und Kammermusikerin bereits auf vier Kontinenten aufgetreten und Co-Direktorin des Wet Ink Ensembles, das die New York Times als ›Best Classical Music Ensemble of 2018‹ ausgezeichnet hat. Ihr ungestillter Appetit auf Kollaborationen und Experimente hat zu einer Fülle an Werken geführt, die Brücken schlagen zwischen Avantgarde, zeitgenössischer, klassischer, improvisierter und traditioneller Musik.

Bojan Vuletić ist Komponist, Klangkünstler und Gitarrist. Musikalische Zusammenarbeiten verbinden ihn u. a. mit Markus Stockhausen, Nate Wooley, Bojan Z, dem Mivos Quartet, dem WDR Rundfunkorchester und -chor und den Düsseldorfer Symphonikern. Er hat zudem Theatermusiken für über 50 Produktionen und Kompositionen für einige zeitgenössische Tanzstücke geschrieben. Audio-Realisationen von Ausstellungen in Zusammenarbeit mit der Künstlerin Danica Dakić waren u. a. auf der documenta 12 Kassel, der Biennale Liverpool und auf der Biennale in Venedig zu erleben. Vuletićs Werke wurden bislang in verschiedenen Ländern Europas, Afrika, Asien und in die USA aufgeführt.

– – –

Eine Produktion im Auftrag des asphalt Festivals, gefördert von der Kunststiftung NRW und vom Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW

Alina Bercu: Klavier
Asagi Nakata: Klavier
Pablo Gīw: Trompete
Christoph Schneider: Klarinette
Matt Moran: Vibraphon
Mariel Roberts: Cello
Bojan Vuletic: Komposition, musikalische Leitung

alinabercu.com
asaginakatapianist.com
giwmusic.com
christoph-schneider-klarinette.de
mattmoran.com
marielroberts.com
bojanvuletic.com