Wir hatten was mit Björn

Album release concert

– – –
Event with headphones
The Seebühne at the Schwanenspiegel floats on the water while the audience sits on the terraces on the shore. In order to connect the audience with what is happening on stage, a headphone system is used that is sanitised before each use.

»
An
extraordinary
jazz-pop
song
ensemble
«
(Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger)

Instruments not commonly heard in pop music: ‘Wir hatten was mit Björn’ mix the acoustic sounds of double bass, trombone and suitcase drum set with electronic sounds. And above it all float Maika Küster’s vocals, direct and pure. Sometimes the band sounds beguiling, naked and raw, then again tender and intimate. The quartet from Bochum makes relaxed, jazzy music and songs that you want to listen to lying on the floor, that chase away the cold and tell you about being human.

Singer Maika Küster and trombonist Maria Trautmann are graduates of the jazz degree programme at the renowned Folkwang University of the Arts and together they create sounds, write lyrics and compose film and theatre pieces. They have been on stage with drummer and effects tinkerer Manuel Loos since 2015, and in 2018 ‘Wir hatten was mit Björn’ became a quartet with double bass player Caris Hermes. The band released their debut album ‘Oh What Pretty Thing’ in 2017. The second album ‘On the ruins’ will be released on Jazzhaus Records at the end of June 2022. ‘Wir hatten was mit Björn’ were previously guests with a night concert in 2019, now they will perform their official release concert on our Seebühne.

– – –
What the press says:

“A pleasantly surprising, innovative and beguiling mix of relaxed jazz with a certain folk-pop appeal” (Westdeutsche Zeitung).

“Beautiful music from Bochum. (…) A lot of liveliness and confidence shimmers through the sentimental sound of the band.” (Klanglabor Berlin)

Supported by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia as part of the #Kunststörer project.

Maika Küster: Vocals
Maria Trautmann: Trombone
Caris Hermes: Double Bass
Manuel Loos: Suitcase Drums, Electronics

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Wir hatten was mit Björn

Album-Release-Konzert
So 3 Juli 2022 11:00

Spielort: Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel

– – –
Veranstaltung mit Kopfhörern
Die Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel schwimmt auf dem Wasser, während das Publikum auf den Terrassen am Ufer sitzt. Um die Zuschauer:innen mit dem Geschehen auf der Bühne zu verbinden, kommt ein Kopfhörersystem zum Einsatz, das vor jeder Nutzung frisch desinfiziert wird.

»
Außer-
gewöhnliches
Jazz-Pop-
Song-
Ensemble
«
(Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger)

Nicht gerade übliche Instrumente in der Popmusik: Akustischer Klang von Kontrabass, Posaune und Kofferschlagzeug vermischt sich bei ›Wir hatten was mit Björn‹ mit elektronischen Sounds. Und über allem schwebt der Gesang von Maika Küster, direkt und pur. Mal klingt die Band betörend, nackt und rau, dann wieder zart und intim. Das Quartett aus Bochum macht entspannt-jazzige Musik und Songs, die man auf dem Boden liegend hören will, die die Kälte vertreiben und vom Menschsein erzählen.

Sängerin Maika Küster und Posaunistin Maria Trautmann sind Absolventinnen des Jazzstudiengangs an der renommierten Folkwang Universität der Künste und kreieren gemeinsame Sounds, schreiben Lyrics und komponieren Musik für Film und Theater. Seit 2015 stehen sie mit dem Schlagzeuger und Effektbastler Manuel Loos auf der Bühne, 2018 wurde ›Wir hatten was mit Björn‹ mit Kontrabassistin Caris Hermes zum Quartett. Die Band veröffentlichte 2017 ihr Debütalbum ›Oh What Pretty Thing‹. Am 2. September 2022 erscheint das zweite Album ›On the ruins‹ bei Jazzhaus Records. ›Wir hatten was mit Björn‹ waren bereits 2019 mit einem Nachtkonzert zu Gast, nun geben sie ihr offizielles Release-Konzert bei uns auf der Seebühne und haben bereits einige frischgepresste CDs im Gepäck.

– – –
Das sagt die Presse:

»Eine angenehm überraschende, innovative und betörende Melange aus relaxtem Jazz mit einem gewissen Folk-Pop-Appeal« (Westdeutsche Zeitung)

»Wunderschöne Musik aus Bochum. (…) Durch den sentimentalen Grundsound der Band schimmert ganz viel Lebendigkeit und Zuversicht.« (Klanglabor Berlin)

Gefördert vom Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW im Rahmen des Projektes #Kunststörer

Maika Küster: Gesang
Maria Trautmann: Posaune
Caris Hermes: Kontrabass
Manuel Loos: Kofferschlagzeug, Elektronik

wirhattenwasmitbjörn.de