Yuriy Gurzhy

Richard Wagner und die Klezmerband
Reading

– – –
Event with headphones
The Seebühne at the Schwanenspiegel floats on the water while the audience sits on the terraces at the shore. To connect the audience with the action on stage, a headphone system is used that is newly sanitised before each use.

»
Richard
Wagner?
I would
have
cancelled
him.
«

(Yuriy Gurzhy)

Richard Wagner once wrote inflammatorily that Jewish musicians and Jewish music had no place in German culture. Yuriy Gurzhy counters with a joking book title: “It’s my little revenge to put Richard Wagner and Klezmer together in the title. He wouldn’t have liked that.” The well-known DJ and musician has been searching for the current Jewish sound of Germany since he came to Potsdam from Ukraine with his family at the age of 20. In his first book, ‘Richard Wagner und die Klezmerband’, Yuriy Gurzhy is also first and foremost a DJ, but he doesn’t mix pieces of music together, instead he tells exciting, unusual stories and invites the reader to take a look behind the curtains of an entire scene.

Between smoky Berlin clubs and Frankfurt’s Festhalle, Yuriy has met unusual people – including a rabbi who writes music parodies, a rapper from California whose great-grandfather wrote songs in Hamburg before the war that are still sung there today, a Green Party politician who performs Yiddish songs, a singer who combines Bavarian folklore with Yiddish songs. The voices in this book belong to the people who have directly and indirectly influenced and created the contemporary Jewish music scene in this country. The protagonists range from Yuriy’s old friend and fellow Russendisko host Vladimir Kaminer to trumpeter Frank London, playwright Sasha Marianna Salzmann, musician and actor Daniel Kahn, musician and author Marina Frenk, singer Maya Saban, rapper Ben Salomo and EU Member of Parliament Sergey Lagodinsky.

Gurzhy’s interview partners show how diverse, lively and progressive the German-Jewish music scene currently is. And it’s not just about music, but about all the intricate and crazy life paths, stories and designs of Jewish artists, concert organisers and label makers in Germany.

Yuriy Gurzhy lives in the Prenzlauer Berg district of Berlin. He is a musician, DJ, producer and radio presenter. Together with the writer Wladimir Kaminer, he initiated the legendary party series ‘Russendisko’ and released compilations such as ‘Russendisko Hits’, ‘Russensoul’ and ‘Ukraine Do America’. Already ‘Shtetl Superstars’ (2006) dealt with contemporary Jewish sounds from all over the world. Gurzhy is also active as a singer and guitarist with the Emigrantski Raggamuffin collective RotFront and founded the Shtetl Superstars Band with Lemez Lovas. In 2016, he hosted the Berlin party series ‘Born In UA’, which focused on Ukrainian music, and released the compilation ‘Borsh Division – Future Sound of Ukraine’.

During the pandemic, Yuriy regularly streamed DJ sets from the Panda Theatre in Berlin, as well as releasing the CD ‘Stay at home, Mama!’ with Wladimir Kaminer and their joint new band ‘Kaminer & Die Antikörpers’.

Sponsored by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia as part of the #Kunststörer project, in cooperation with the zakk – Centre for Action, Culture and Communication in Düsseldorf.

– – –
by and with Yuriy Gurzhy

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Yuriy Gurzhy

Richard Wagner und die Klezmerband
Lesung
Fr 1 Juli 2022 20:30

Spielort: Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel

– – –
Veranstaltung mit Kopfhörern
Die Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel schwimmt auf dem Wasser, während das Publikum auf den Terrassen am Ufer sitzt. Um die Zuschauer:innen mit dem Geschehen auf der Bühne zu verbinden, kommt ein Kopfhörersystem zum Einsatz, das vor jeder Nutzung frisch desinfiziert wird.

»
Richard
Wagner?
Den
hätte ich
gecancelt.
«
(Yuriy Gurzhy)

In der deutschen Kultur, so schrieb Richard Wagner einst hetzerisch, hätten jüdische Musiker und jüdische Musik keinen Platz. Yuriy Gurzhy kontert mit einem scherzhaften Buchtitel: »Es ist meine kleine Rache, Richard Wagner und Klezmer im Titel zusammenzubringen. Ihm hätte das nicht gefallen.« Der bekannte DJ und Musiker ist auf der Suche nach dem aktuellen jüdischen Sound Deutschlands, seit er im Alter von 20 Jahren mit seiner Familie aus der Ukraine nach Potsdam kam. Auch in seinem ersten Buch ›Richard Wagner und die Klezmerband‹ ist Yuriy Gurzhy zuallererst DJ, mischt jedoch keine Musikstücke, sondern spannende, außergewöhnliche Geschichten zusammen und nimmt die Leser mit hinter die Kulissen einer ganzen Szene.

Zwischen verrauchten Berliner Clubs und der Frankfurter Festhalle hat Yuriy ungewöhnliche Menschen getroffen – darunter einen Rabbiner, der Musikparodien schreibt, einen Rapper aus Kalifornien, dessen Urgroßvater vor dem Krieg in Hamburg Songs geschrieben hat, die dort auch heute noch gesungen werden, einen Grünen-Politiker, der jiddische Lieder performte, eine Sängerin, die bayerische Folklore mit jiddischen Songs vereint. Die Stimmen in diesem Buch gehören den Menschen, die direkt und indirekt die zeitgenössische jüdische Musikszene dieses Landes beeinflusst und kreiert haben. Die Bandbreite der Protagonist:innen reicht von Yuriys altem Freund und Russen-Disko-Mitstreiter Wladimir Kaminer über den Trompeter Frank London, Dramatikerin Sasha Marianna Salzmann, Musiker und Schauspieler Daniel Kahn, Musikerin und Autorin Marina Frenk, Sängerin Maya Saban und Rapper Ben Salomo bis zum EU-Parlamentsabgeordneten Sergey Lagodinsky.

Gurzhys Gesprächspartner:innen zeigen, wie vielfältig, lebendig und progressiv die deutsch-jüdische Musikszene gegenwärtig ist. Und es geht dabei nicht nur um Musik, sondern um all die verschlungenen und verrückten Lebenswege und Geschichten der jüdischen Künstler:innen, Konzertveranstalter:innen und Labelmacher:innen in Deutschland.

Yuriy Gurzhy lebt im Berliner Bezirk Prenzlauer Berg. Er ist Musiker, DJ, Produzent und Radiomoderator. Gemeinsam mit dem Schriftsteller Wladimir Kaminer initiierte er die legendäre Partyreihe ›Russendisko‹ und gab Compilations heraus, u. a. ›Russendisko Hits‹, ›Russensoul‹, ›Ukraine Do America‹. Schon ›Shtetl Superstars‹ (2006) befasste sich mit zeitgenössischen jüdischen Sounds aus der ganzen Welt. Gurzhy ist auch als Sänger und Gitarrist mit dem Emigrantski Raggamuffin Kollektiv RotFront aktiv und gründete mit Lemez Lovas die Shtetl Superstars Band. 2016 veranstaltete er die Berliner Partyreihe ›Born In UA‹, die sich mit ukrainischer Musik befasste, und brachte die Compilation ›Borsh Division – Future Sound of Ukraine‹ heraus.

Während der Pandemie hat Yuriy regelmäßig DJ-Sets aus dem Panda-Theater Berlin gestreamt sowie mit Wladimir Kaminer und der gemeinsamen neuen Band ›Kaminer & Die Antikörpers‹ die CD ›Bleib zu Hause, Mama!‹ herausgebracht.

Gefördert vom Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW im Rahmen des Projektes #Kunststörer, in Kooperation mit dem zakk – Zentrum für Aktion, Kultur und Kommunikation in Düsseldorf

– – –
von und mit Yuriy Gurzhy