Wofür es sich zu kämpfen lohnt

Retzlaff, Berndt, Hoffmann
Notes of a Hamster

– – –
Event with headphones
The Seebühne at the Schwanenspiegel floats on the water while the audience sits on the terraces at the shore. To connect the audience with the action on stage, a headphone system is used that is sanitised before each use.

Thoughts
of an
Entire
City

A wheel, a few grains and water. Is that all a hamster’s thoughts revolve around when he runs around in his cage? Or is he really dreaming of his escape, of life beyond the bars and unknown adventures? What would we read in his diary? In a piece of musical theatre, actress Anke Retzlaff and multi-instrumentalist Peter Florian Berndt give a voice and body to a little hamster. Together they search for ways out of loneliness, find allies, start a hunger strike, fall in love and quarrel and try to escape each other in a very confined space.

What is worth fighting for? What does freedom mean and where do we find it? And what happens when the hamster wheel suddenly stops and everything seems possible? Is the world ready for such changes? In the search for answers to the big questions of such a small being, the stories of people from the city are also included. Accompanying the production ›Something worth fighting for‹, a mobile collection point is being set up in the middle of the city where visitors can leave personal stories, thoughts and feelings on the subject of freedom, which then will be included in the production. By taking on the life of a hamster, Anke Retzlaff and Peter Florian Berndt exchange big for small, a hamster wheel for freedom, chansons for protest songs, and the records of an individual for the memories of an entire city.

Anke Retzlaff is an actress, musician and director. For her role in the feature film ‘Puppe’ she was nominated for the New Faces Award for Best Newcomer Actress in 2013 and named Best Newcomer Artist in ‘Theater heute’ in 2021. At the ‘Theater der Welt’ festival in Düsseldorf in 2021, her performance ‘Dream Machine’ premiered, in which Berndt and Hoffmann also participated.

Peter Florian Berndt is a musician, songwriter and performer. He has worked as a composer and stage musician at various theatres in Germany. He is an active member of the professional improv theatre ensemble ‘Ernst von Leben’ and an electric guitarist with ‘Los Pistoleros Güeros’.

Paul Jumin Hoffmann is an actor and was a permanent ensemble member of the Junges Schauspiel Düsseldorf for four years. He can be seen regularly not only on theatre stages but also in TV series such as ‘SoKo Köln’ or ‘Polizeiruf’. Hoffmann has already directed various theatre productions together with Anke Retzlaff.

The production is supported by Fonds Darstellende Künste with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of NEUSTART KULTUR – within the program #TakeHeart Prozessförderung. The performances take place within the project STADT DER FREUDE, which is funded by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of NRW – Regional Cultural Policy NRW (RKP).

with Anke Retzlaff (acting, voice) and Peter Florian Berndt (guitar, sampler, electronics)

Director, Artistic Direction: Anke Retzlaff
Co-Direction: Paul Jumin Hoffmann
Scenography, Costume Design: Simone Grieshaber
Music: Peter Florian Berndt, Anke Retzlaff
Dramaturgy: Katharina Rösch
Lyrics: Anke Retzlaff, Peter Florian Berndt, Hannah Schumacher
Production: Felix Forsbach

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Uraufführung

Wofür es sich zu kämpfen lohnt

Retzlaff, Berndt, Hoffmann
Aufzeichnungen eines Hamsters
Fr 1 Juli 2022 16:30
Sa 2 Juli 2022 16:30
So 3 Juli 2022 14:30

Spielort: Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel

– – –
Veranstaltung mit Kopfhörern
Die Seebühne am Schwanenspiegel schwimmt auf dem Wasser, während das Publikum auf den Terrassen am Ufer sitzt. Um die Zuschauer:innen mit dem Geschehen auf der Bühne zu verbinden, kommt ein Kopfhörersystem zum Einsatz, das vor jeder Nutzung frisch desinfiziert wird.

Die
Gedanken
einer
ganzen
Stadt

Ein Rad, ein paar Körner und Wasser. Ist das alles, worum die Gedanken eines Hamsters kreisen, wenn er in seinem Käfig umherläuft? Oder träumt er in Wahrheit von seinem Ausbruch, vom Leben jenseits der Gitterstäbe und unbekannten Abenteuern? Was würden wir in seinem Tagebuch lesen? In einem musikalischen Theaterabend verleihen die Schauspielerin Anke Retzlaff und der Multiinstrumentalist Peter Florian Berndt einem kleinen Hamster Stimme und Körper. Gemeinsam suchen sie mit ihm nach Auswegen aus der Einsamkeit, finden Verbündete, zetteln einen Hungerstreik an, verlieben und streiten sich und versuchen, einander auf engstem Raum zu entkommen.

Wofür lohnt es sich zu kämpfen? Was bedeutet Freiheit und wo finden wir sie? Und was passiert, wenn das Hamsterrad plötzlich stillsteht und alles möglich erscheint? Ist die Welt bereit für solche Veränderungen? Auf der Suche nach Antworten auf die großen Fragen eines so kleinen Wesens werden auch die Geschichten von Menschen aus der Stadt miteinbezogen. Begleitend zur Inszenierung entsteht mitten in der Stadt eine Sammelstation, in der Besucher:innen persönliche Geschichten, Gedanken und Gefühle zum Thema Freiheit hinterlassen können, die in der Inszenierung aufgegriffen werden. Indem sich Anke Retzlaff und Peter Florian Berndt dem Leben eines Hamsters annehmen, tauschen sie groß gegen klein, ein Hamsterrad gegen die Freiheit, Chansons gegen Protestlieder, und die Aufzeichnungen eines Einzelnen gegen die Erinnerungen einer ganzen Stadt.

Anke Retzlaff ist Schauspielerin, Musikerin und Regisseurin. Für ihre Rolle im Kinofilm ›Puppe‹ wurde sie 2013 für den New Faces Award als beste Nachwuchsschauspielerin nominiert und 2021 als Beste Nachwuchskünstlerin in ›Theater heute‹ genannt. Beim Festival ›Theater der Welt‹ in Düsseldorf wurde 2021 ihre Performance ›Dream Machine‹ uraufgeführt, an der auch Berndt und Hoffmann mitwirkten.

Peter Florian Berndt ist Musiker, Liedtexter und Performer. Als Komponist und Bühnenmusiker war er bereits an verschiedenen Theatern in Deutschland tätig. Er ist aktives Mitglied des professionellen Improtheaterensembles ›Ernst von Leben‹ und E-Gitarrist bei ›Los Pistoleros Güeros‹.

Paul Jumin Hoffmann ist Schauspieler und war vier Jahre lang festes Ensemblemitglied des Jungen Schauspiels Düsseldorf. Er ist nicht nur regelmäßig auf Theaterbühnen, sondern auch in TV-Serien wie ›SoKo Köln‹ oder ›Polizeiruf‹ zu sehen. Hoffmann führte bereits bei verschiedenen Theaterproduktionen gemeinsam mit Anke Retzlaff Regie.

Eine Koproduktion mit dem asphalt Festival im Rahmen des Projektes STADT DER FREUDE, gefördert vom Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW- Regionale Kulturpolitik NRW (RKP)

mit Anke Retzlaff (Schauspiel, Stimme) und Peter Florian Berndt (Gitarre, Sampler, Electronics)

Regie, künstlerische Leitung: Anke Retzlaff
Co-Regie: Paul Jumin Hoffmann
Szenografie, Kostüm: Simone Grieshaber 
Musik: Peter Florian Berndt, Anke Retzlaff
Dramaturgie: Katharina Rösch
Songtexte: Anke Retzlaff, Peter Florian Berndt, Hannah Schumacher
Produktion: Felix Forsbach