Skatepark

Choreography by Mette Ingvartsen
BE/DK

– – –
Venue: D’haus Central am Hbf.
Worringer Straße 140
40210 Düsseldorf
– – –
Pay what you can – socially just and responsible!
Ticket prices:
Adv. booking 9 – 36 Euro
Box office 10 – 41 Euro
– – –
Running time: 80 minutes, no intermission
– – –
Recommended age: from 12 years
– – –
This event is wheelchair accessible

“Extremely 
cool”
(tanz.at)

Legend has it that one day, low waves forced the surfers of Los Angeles out of the water and onto the tarmac. Since then, skaters have conquered public space with their unique choreographies. They glide through the streets and fly through the air, overcoming obstacles with daring moves and defying gravity.

In her latest spectacular work, Danish choreographer Mette Ingvartsen transforms the stage into a skate park and reimagines skating as a form of dance. A large group of dancers and skaters, including members of Düsseldorf’s skate scene, share the thrill of speed and the special energy of movement on wheels. Ingvartsen’s cleverly staged performance is about more than just the virtuosity of these “daredevils on wheels”: “Skatepark is also an exploration of a community defined by passion, perseverance and hard work. The skaters relentlessly test, fail and push the boundaries of what is physically possible, both individually and as a group. But they also just hang out, listen to music, talk, laugh and dance.

“Skatepark has virtually no lyrics and is an experience for all generations. The special subculture of skating is condensed on stage into an impressive, lively choreography. Rarely has the positive attitude of a young generation been brought to the stage in such a dazzling way and with such energy.

Danish choreographer and dancer Mette Ingvartsen often combines dance and movement with other disciplines such as visual arts, technology, language and theory. Since founding her company in 2003, her work has been shown in Europe, the USA, Canada, South Korea, Taiwan and Australia. Ingvartsen has been artist in residence at the Kaaitheater in Brussels and the Volksbühne in Berlin. She holds a doctorate in choreography from UNIARTS / Lund University in Sweden.

Vimeo

By loading the video, you agree to Vimeo’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

– – –
What the press says:

“‘Skatepark’ sparkles with joie de vivre and vitality” (WDR Westart)

“All this has power, energy, can get loud, touches in its performative quality” (Kurier)

“Brilliant performance” (tanz.at)

“Between hypnotic ballet and space for resistance, this skate park lets the voices of youth resound. (sceneweb.fr)

“Skatepark is a wonderful piece about dance. (tanz)

“Skatepark is not only a moving plea for greater freedom and equality, but the performance tells us so much more.” (Theaterkrant)

– – –

A Production of Great Investment vzw

 

with Damien Delsaux, Manuel Faust, Aline Boas, Mary Pop Wheels, Sam Gelis, Fouad Nafili, Júlia Rúbies Subirós, Thomas Bîrzan, Briek Neuckermans, Indreas Kifleyesus, Arthur Vannes, Camille Gecchele and local skaters

Concept & choreography: Mette Ingvartsen
Choreography assistance: Michaël Pomero
Sound design: Anne van de Star, Peter Lenaerts
Lighting design: Minna Tiikkainen
Music: Felix Kubin, Mord Records, Why the eye, sonaBLAST! Records, Rrose, The Fanny Pads, RestivePlaggona
Dramaturgy: Bojana Cvejić
Costume: Jennifer Defays
Stage: Pierre Jambé / Antidote
Technical set design: Stéphane Thonnard
Set construction: Building workshop of the Théâtre National de Bruxelles: Joachim Pochet, Joachim Hesse, Pierre Jardon, Yves Philippaerts, Andrea Messana, Boyd Gates
Technical direction: Hans Meijer
Sound engineering: Milan Van Doren, Yrjänä Rankka, Filip Vilhelmsson
Lighting: Bennert Vancottem, Jan-Simon De Lille
Production, administration: Joey Ng
Assistant producer: Oihana Azpillaga Camio
Production management: Ruth Collier
Communications: Jeroen Goffings

metteingvartsen.net

Skip to content

Skatepark

Choreografie von Mette Ingvartsen
Belgien / Dänemark

– – –
Spielort: D’haus Central am Hbf.
Worringer Straße 140
40210 Düsseldorf
– – –
Pay what you can – sozial gerecht und verantwortungsvoll
Ticketpreise:
VVK 9 – 36 Euro
Abendkasse 10 – 41 Euro
– – –
Altersempfehlung: ab 12 Jahren
– – –
Dauer: 80 Min., keine Pause
Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung am 20. Juli wird ein Nachgespräch angeboten.
– – –
Die Veranstaltung ist für Rollstuhlfahrer*innen barrierefrei.

»
Extrem
cool
«
(tanz.at)

Der Legende nach zwangen niedrige Wellen die Surfer*innen von Los Angeles eines Tages aus dem Wasser auf den Asphalt. Inzwischen haben sich Skater*innen mit ihren einzigartigen Choreografien den öffentlichen Raum erobert. Sie gleiten durch die Straßen und fliegen durch die Luft, überwinden Hindernisse mit waghalsigen Moves und trotzen der Schwerkraft.

In ihrer spektakulären jüngsten Arbeit verwandelt die dänische Choreografin Mette Ingvartsen die Bühne in einen Skatepark und begreift Skaten als eine Form des Tanzes. Eine große Gruppe aus Tänzer*innen und Skater*innen, unter ihnen auch Mitglieder der Düsseldorfer Skate-Szene, suchen gemeinsam den Nervenkitzel des Tempos und die besondere Energie der Bewegung auf Rollen. Trotz der Virtuosität dieser »Draufgänger auf Rädern« will Ingvartsen in ihrer klug inszenierten Performance mehr als nur clevere Tricks zeigen: »Skatepark« ist auch die Erkundung einer Gemeinschaft, die sich durch Leidenschaft, Ausdauer und harte Arbeit definiert. Die Skater*innen probieren sich unermüdlich aus, scheitern und verschieben immer wieder die Grenzen dessen, was physisch möglich ist, sowohl einzeln als auch als Gruppe. Aber genauso hängen sie auch einfach gemeinsam ab, hören Musik, reden, lachen und tanzen.

»Skatepark« kommt so gut wie ohne Text aus und ist ein Erlebnis für alle Generationen. Die besondere Subkultur des Skatens verdichtet sich auf der Bühne zu einer beeindruckenden, lebendigen Choreografie. Selten wurde auf der Bühne das positive Lebensgefühl einer jungen Generation derart umwerfend und mit solcher Energie gezeigt.

Die dänische Choreografin und Tänzerin Mette Ingvartsen kombiniert vielfach Tanz und Bewegung mit anderen Disziplinen wie bildende Kunst, Technologie, Sprache und Theorie. Seit der Gründung ihrer Compagnie 2003 wurden ihre Arbeiten in Europa, den USA, Kanada, Südkorea, Taiwan und Australien gezeigt. Ingvartsen war u. a. Artist in Residence am Kaaitheater in Brüssel und an der Volksbühne in Berlin. Sie promovierte in Choreografie an der UNIARTS / Universität Lund in Schweden.

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

– – –
Das sagt die Presse:

»›Skatepark‹ sprüht vor Lebensfreude und Vitalität« (WDR Westart)

»Das alles hat Kraft, Energie, kann auch laut werden, berührt in seiner performativen Qualität« (Kurier)

»Brillante Performance« (tanz.at)

»Zwischen hypnotischem Ballett und Raum für Widerstand lässt dieser Skatepark die Stimmen der Jugend erklingen.« (sceneweb.fr)

»›Skatepark‹ ist ein wunderbares Stück über Tanz.« (tanz)

»Not only is ’Skatepark’ a moving plea for greater freedom and equality, but the performance also tells us so much more.« (Theaterkrant)

– – –

Eine Produktion von Great Investment vzw.

mit Damien Delsaux, Manuel Faust, Aline Boas, Mary Pop Wheels, Sam Gelis, Fouad Nafili, Júlia Rúbies Subirós, Thomas Bîrzan, Briek Neuckermans, Indreas Kifleyesus, Arthur Vannes, Camille Gecchele und lokalen Skater*innen

Konzept & Choreographie: Mette Ingvartsen
Choreografie Assistenz: Michaël Pomero
Sound Design: Anne van de Star, Peter Lenaerts
Licht Design: Minna Tiikkainen
Musik: Felix Kubin, Mord Records, Why the eye, sonaBLAST! Records, Rrose, The Fanny Pads, Restive Plaggona
Dramaturgie: Bojana Cvejić
Kostüm: Jennifer Defays
Bühne: Pierre Jambé / Antidote
Technisches Bühnendesign: Stéphane Thonnard
Bühnenkonstruktion: Bauwerkstatt des Théâtre National Bruxelles: Joachim Pochet, Joachim Hesse, Pierre Jardon, Yves Philippaerts, Andrea Messana, Boyd Gates
Technische Leitung: Hans Meijer
Tontechnik: Milan Van Doren, Yrjänä Rankka, Filip Vilhelmsson
Lichttechnik: Bennert Vancottem, Jan-Simon De Lille
Produktion, Verwaltung: Joey Ng
Produktionsassistenz: Oihana Azpillaga Camio
Produktionsmanagement: Ruth Collier
Kommunikation: Jeroen Goffings

metteingvartsen.net

Skip to content